Contiempo

Jorge Zerolo and Rodrigo Mesa winery Contiempo


In the words of Jorge Zerolo: "In the Canary Islands wine can not be taken simply as an economic project, because it is not competitive in this sense, that's why we need to have a unique, singular wine, that surprises. First of all, it should surprise the winemaker, the one who has imagined it" . Together with his good friend Rodrigo Mesa, leads Zerolo the "Contiempo" wine project.


What was already a model farm in the Canary Islands in terms of agricultural innovation, owned by the family of Rodrigo Mesa since 1994, would be later part of a transformation process to become gradually a vineyard garden. On the basis of modern molecular techniques, DNA markers, the identification and characterization of more than 40 grape varieties was achieved, some of them still exist in parts of Europe, but most are only on the Canary Islands. This deep knowledge of the grape varieties made it possible not only to establish their suitability for different landscapes and soils, but also the great potential of each in winemaking. So that's how Contiempo started to cultivate its own vineyard from year 2000 on.


The vineyards extend along the villages of Arafo and Güimar, in southern Tenerife, between 50-1500 meters above sea level and taking part of the designation of origin: DOP Güimar. Here, these two friends with a focus on innovation and not less risk, analyze the harvest each year in order to produce the "flagship wine" of the winery and afford a pleasing range of experimentation for other wines, which keeps them as the young and dynamic reference winery. Their wines, also the selection we present here, faithfully reflect the charm of this project.

No products for this supplier.

Copyright © 2015 5515Genussraum. Webdesign Hosting by SEOSharks Berlin.

Contiempo

Jorge Zerolo and Rodrigo Mesa winery Contiempo


Mit den Worten von Jorge Zerolo: "Auf den Kanarischen Inseln kann Wein nicht einfach als ein wirtschaftliches Projekt vorangebracht werden, da er in diesem Sinne nicht konkurrenzfähig ist. Also müssen wir einen Wein herstellen, der einzigartig ist, der überrascht, zuallererst  den Winzer, den ihn erdachte. Zusammen mit seinem guten Freund Rodrigo Mesa führt Zerolo das „Contiempo“ Projekt.


Zunächst war hier „nur“ ein innovativer landwirtschaftlicher Betrieb, ein  Bauernhof. Er gehörte der  Rodrigo Mesa Familie und verwandelte sich seit 1994  langsam in einem Pflanzengarten. Auf der Basis moderner molekularer Techniken, DNA-Marker inklusive,  wurden mehr als 40 Rebsorten entwickelt. Einige von ihnen finden sich auch noch im übrigen Europa, die meisten existieren jedoch allein auf der Kanaren. Eine tiefe Kenntnis der Sorten ermöglichte es, ihre Eignung für unterschiedliche Landschaften auszudehnen und so ein größeres Potenzial der Weinbereitung zu etablieren. Schließlich begann man hier im Jahr 2000 mit dem eigenen Weinanbau.


Auf  einem weitläufigen Gelände im Süden Teneriffas zwischen Arafo und Güimar - 50 bis 1.500 Meter über den Meeresspiegel - verteilen sich diese Weinberge des Labels D.O.P Güimar. Die beiden Freunde Zerolo und Mesa legen ihren Fokus weiter auf Innovation, sind sich der Risiken sehr wohl bewußt. Jedes Jahr analysieren sie die Ernte, um den „Flaggschiff Wein“ des Weingutes herzustellen. Sie experimentiern und halten das Weingut jung und dynamisch. Ihre Weine, von denen wir euch eine persönliche Auswahl präsentieren, zeigen den Charme dieses Projektes.

Kein Produkt für diesen Weingut.

Copyright © 2015 5515Genussraum. Webdesign Hosting by SEOSharks Berlin.